RSS

Bored of MMORPGs!

01 Nov

So I downloaded the WoW trial for free players quite some time ago and I have been playing it. The problem is, I know this is supposed to be one of the best, possibly even the best MMO out there but it just can’t seem to hold my attention at all.

What’s up with gameplay? I don’t understand why there are so many quests and all you ever do is kill things to complete them and get rewards. So everything is just running around killing ten rats… forever?
wow blood elfI do like the graphics and the sound effects. The backstory behind the blood elves is also very interesting and at first I was really into that but now it seems when I log in all I ever do is quests. On the plus side, I do love the combat system but I’m bored and I haven’t even gotten to level 20 yet.

With the open world questing, the mobs are far apart most of the time so I also don’t get how we are supposed to work in groups. I mean, okay you can kill two mobs together then you have to keep on moving. I always seem to lose my group members after than. IMO, if you can no longer see them in your screen, you have lost them. What’s the point of playing with friends if you can’t stay together in the game screen? You might as well not play together if you just independently kill things.

There also doesn’t seem to be a robust skill or profession system as far as I can tell. I haven’t had to craft anything at all.

*sigh*

In other news, here is a new article What is a Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game? and I am taking a long look at an upcoming game Blade and Soul.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in Game Blogs

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

